Making Science Communication Work


In another significant move to elevate S&T communication in the country, the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) and the University of the Philippines (UP) Los Baños ink partnership to launch the first off-campus scholarship in Master of Science in Development Communication for DOST’s communication specialists recently at the PHIVOLCS Auditorium in Quezon City. The scholarship, funded under the DOST Human Resource Development Program, aims to “better communicate and popularize the results of efforts of DOST to improve the lives of Filipinos, address current problems, and promote the use of S&T in Filipinos’ daily lives.” Representing the institutional partnership are DOST Secretary Fortunato T. de La Peña (fourth from left) and partners (L-R)  UP Los Baños Graduate School Dean Dr. Jose V. Camacho Jr. ,  DOST Science Education Institute Director Dr. Josette T. Biyo, UP Los Baños Chancellor Fernando C. Sanchez Jr., DOST-Science and Technology Information Institute Director Richard P. Burgos, and UP Los Baños College of Development Communication Dean Dr. Ma. Theresa H. Velasco. Other officials in attendance are DOST Undersecretary for S&T Services Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara, Undersecretary for Regional Operations Dr. Carol M. Yorobe, and administrators from UP Los Baños.(George Robert E. Valencia III, DOST-NRCP)


New scholars under DOST’s first off-campus scholarship grant in Master of Science in Development Communication (MS DevCom) formally receive their admission notices during the ceremonial memo signing between DOST and UP Los Baños last Thursday, 8 October 2016 at PHIVOLCS, Quezon City. The program was made possible through the collaboration of the Science and Technology Information Institute (DOST-STII), the Science Education Institute (DOST-SEI), the DOST Media Core, and the UP Los Baños College of Development Communication. In photo are seven of the 16 scholars (from left): Haziel May C. Natorilla (STII), Charmaine V. Villamil (PHIVOLCS), Melanie R. Aquino (PAGASA), Jude M. Jose (PAGASA), Lucille D. Sanico (PHIVOLCS), Ma. Grace B. Sasota (SEI), and Marren Joy J. Belgado (SEI). Aside from full coverage of tuition and matriculation fees, the MS DevCom scholars are entitled to monthly stipends, book allowance, and thesis assistance grants. (George Robert E. Valencia III, DOST-NRCP)

Tell us what you think!

You might also like to read:

Permanent link to this article: