Dr. Landon A. Ocampo was named as one of the recipients of the Outstanding Young Scientist Awards given by the National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST PHL) in recognition of his significant contributions to both theory and practice of manufacturing sustainability and risk analysis, crucial points of interest for Philippine manufacturing and supply chain sector in view of climate change.

He developed guidelines for manufacturing companies, both large firms and SMEs, in carrying out strategic planning for competitiveness within the context of sustainability.

Dr. Ocampo obtained his degree in B.S. Industrial Engineering cum laude (2009) and M. Eng. Industrial Engineering (2011) both from the University of San Carlos. He obtained his Ph.D. degree in Industrial Engineering from De La Salle University in 2014. He is currently an Assistant Professor 1 at the Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, University of San Carlos, Cebu City.

He has authored and co-authored more than 30 peer-reviewed journal publications. Several of his works have been selected as Best Paper Award and Outstanding Paper Award in local conferences. He is also a recipient of several scientific awards such as National Award for Excellence in Science given by the Department of Science and Technology Region 7 in 2009 and Third Prize Winner in Research awarded by the Philippines Institute of Industrial Engineers (PICE) in 2010.

The National Academy of the Science and Technology, Philippines (NASTPHL) has adopted the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) with focus on SDG No. 14 on life below water to be its aver arching theme for the 39th Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) on July 12-17 at the Manila Hotel.

The NAST, PHL, is an attached agency of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) and the country’s highest recognition and advisory body to the government and science community on issues concerning science and technology.

The award was presented during the award giving ceremony at World Trade Center, Gil Puyat Avenue Extension corner Diosdado Macapagal Boulevard Pasay City on July 11, 2017.

The Outstanding Young Scientist Awards is given by NAST PHL to outstanding Filipino scientist (must not be 41 years old within January to December in the year of the awarding) who have made significant contributions to science and technology.(Source: National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippine [NAST PHL].