Who among our public servants will emit the brightest light and shine on Saturday night, February 28 at University of the Philippines Theater, Diliman, Quezon City?

This is the big question as outstanding local government officials and employees from different branches of the government will be honored and dignified on the very first “GAWAD SULO NG BAYAN 2015 SA KALAKHANG MAYNILA-SEKTOR NG PAMAHALAAN”.

The GAWAD SULO NG BAYAN is an award-giving activity that aims to dignify individuals and organizations whose contributions made a tremendous positive impact to the society and helped improve the lives of many thru education, livelihood, health, social and humanitarian services, and people empowerment.

Organized by a group of professionals from the creative industry known as Golden Torch Creative Consultants Association, Inc. (Golden Torch CCA, Inc.), GAWAD SULO NG BAYAN is a one of a kind search for individuals, institutions and organizations that serve as “lights in the darkness”.

“The mission of Golden Torch is to search for role models who will inspire others to serve the people more. Just like a ‘sulo’ which is normally being used in dark farthest mountains, forests and islands, the GAWAD SULO NG BAYAN awardees must provide brightness and bring hope, especially during times of calamities, disasters, crises and struggles when darkness and hopelessness embed among the people and the society,” said Mr. Danny B. Mangahas, chairman/president of the Golden Torch CCA, Inc.

The GAWAD SULO NG BAYAN is a year-long activity and is set up to award outstanding individuals and groups from four different sectors – the 1) government, 2) business/corporate, 3) non-government institutions, 4) entertainment and mass media.

Among top nominees in the Metro Manila leg are Mayors Herbert M. Bautista (Quezon City) and Benhur Abalos, Jr. (Mandaluyong City) for the “PINAKAMAHUSAY NA PUNONG-LUNGSOD” category while Quezon City’s Vice Mayor Joy Belmonte is a sure win as a lone final nominee for “PINAKAMAHUSAY NA PANGALAWANG PUNONG-LUNGSOD” category.  Quezon City, Valenzuela, Manila, Mandaluyong, Pasay and Pasig are the nominees for “PINAKAMAHUSAY NA LUNGSOD” category.

Vice President Jejomar Binay, Public Attorney’s Office chief Atty. Persida Acosta, and former Chief Justice Renato Corona, will be the recipients of “GININTUANG SULO NG BAYAN” which is the highest distinction award to be given by the award-giving body.

Special awardees include United Nations Ambassador Gion Villamor Gounet, Engr. Jun Lozada,  Sonshine Media Network International and broadcaster Ms. Kaye Dacer of DZMM-ABS CBN.