The Department of Science and Technology (DOST) presented the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) awardees at the DOST 2014 NSTW on July 25 (2nd day of the 5-day NSTW) held at the SMX Convention, Mall of Asia (MOA), Pasay City.

The awards and awardees are the following:

*Outstanding Research and Development Award for Basic Research (Eduardo A. Quisumbing Medal): Grecebio Jonathan D. Alejandro, Ph.D., Research Center for the Natural and Applied Sciences, College of Science and the Graduate School, University of Sto. Thomas, in recognition of his pioneering research on “Molecular phylogeny and taxonomic revision of the Philippine endemic Villaria Rolfe (Rubiaceae)” which established the classification of the little known Rubiaceae genus Villaria through molecular markers and documented the morphology and conservation status of all its species including a novel species Villarialeytensis.

Dr. Eduardo A. Quisumbing was an outstanding botanist, orchidologist, administrator, conservationist, curator, science writer, and educator. He has studied many Philippine plants and published them. He was also the Father of Philippine Orchidology and a conservationist of the Philippine Herbarium.

*Outstanding Research and Development Award for Applied Research (Julian A. Banzon Medal): Rhodora V. Azanza, Ph.D., Marine Science Institute, UP Diliman, in recognition of her outstanding research leadership on the program “Detection and Mitigation of Technology and Early Warning System for Philippine Harmful Algal Blossoms (HABTech) and Molecular Studies of HAB Causative Organisms and Associated Bacteria (HAB Genomics)” that aimed to develop cost-effective and efficient technology for the detection and mitigation of HABs, commonly known as red tides, to mitigate their impacts to public health, economy, and the environment by identifying and providing assessment of the causative organisms, intensity of negative impacts, and the increasing number of affected areas brought about by HABs.

Dr. Julian A. Banzon has dedicated a good portion of his life to scientific endeavors, concentrating his attention to that unique Philippine palm, the coconut. His studies have shown that this palm may   very well be the renewable source of chemical and fuels. He has devised some novel processes such as the extraction of residual coconut oil by chemical, rather than by physical process.

*Outstanding Technology Commercialization Award (Gregorio Y. Zara Medal): Tessie C. Nunez, M.S., National Coconut Research Center – Visayas, Visayas State University, in recognition of her successful commercialization of the soft-endospermed coconut, commonly known as makapuno, which is being utilized in the export of sweetened dessert and popularly used as ice cream flavoring, cake topping, pastry filling, and as a major ingredient in the production of wood wrap being exported to the United States. For her outstanding technological research in developing self-pollinating and self-bearing makapuno hybrids using local dwarf coconut as maternal parents and UPLB (TMAC) makapuno as pollen parent which allowed the early bearing and hybrids ensuring makapuno high yield.

Dr. Gregorio Y. Zara was an educator, an inventor, and a scientist. He invented the Earth Induction Compass, Vapor Chamber, and the television telephone, among others. He was one of the pioneers of aeronautical engineering in the country. He is author to a number of science textbooks, and was an outstanding public servant.

*Outstanding Science Administrator Award (Dioscoro L. Umali Medal): Reynaldo V. Ebora, Ph.D., Director, National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, in recognition of his outstanding contributions as the head of the National Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology (BIOTECH), University of the Philippines Los Banos. For bringing the institution at the forefront of biotechnology research in the Philippines, for leading the commercialization and technology transfer of BIOTECH products and services, including the biofertilizer products notably the Bio N, which is widely adopted by the Department of Agriculture in its organic farming program and the Mykovam by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources in its National Greening Program.

Dr. Dioscoro L. Umali is an academician, educator, research organizer, development administrator, and science statesman who is best known for his plant breeding work that resulted in the breeding of improved varieties of food grains, legumes, fruits and ornamental plants. He is a strong advocate of people’s participation in planning and decision making and played a catalytic role in providing deep insights and inspiring fellow scientists to set goals and share experiences about the social challenges and transformation in a society concerned with developing the full potential of man.

The National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST), is the government’s highest recognition and advisory body on science and technology.