The National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NASTPhil) of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) awarded twelve Outstanding Young Scientists (OYS) during its 86th Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) on June 9-10, 2014 at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), Manila.

Part of the two-day programs were the recognition ceremonies for the following awards: OYS, NAST Environmental Award, TWAS Prize for Young Scientists in the Philippines, NAST Talent Search for Young Scientists, Outstanding Books and Monograph, Outstanding Scientific Papers, and Best Scientific Poster Award.

The awarded OYS were Glenn Banaguas, Masteral in Environmental Management, De La Salle, Araneta University; Rommel C. Sulabo, Ph. D. Animal Science, University of the Philippines, Los Banos; Ian Kendrich C. Fontanilla, Ph.D., Genetics, University of the Philippines, Diliman;

Karl Marx A. Quiazon, Ph.D., Aquatic Biosciences, Central Luzon State University; Richard S. Lemence, Ph.D., Mathematics, University of the Philippines Diliman; May T. Lim, Ph.D., Applied Physics, University of the Philippines Diliman; Jessie Pascual P. Bitog, Ph.D., Agricultural and Rural System Engineering, Nueva Viscaya State University;

Rhoda B. Leron, Ph.D., Chemical Engineering, Mapua Institute of Technology; Paolo Antonio S. Silva, M.D, Ophthalmology University of the Philippines Manila; John Mark S, Velasco, M.D., Public Health, AFP Medical Center; Geoffrey M. Decones, Ph.D., Economics, University of the Philippines Diliman; Analyn Salvador-Amores, Ph.D., Social and Cultural Anthropology, University of the Philippines Baguio.

TWAS PRIZE Young Scientists in the Philippines: Thomas Edison E. Dela Cruz, Dr. Rer. Nat, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Sto. Thomas; and Ian Kendrich C. Fontanilla, Ph.D., Institute of Biology, University of the Philippines Diliman.

NAST Environmental Science Award: Damasa Magcale-Macandog, Ph.D., Institute of Biological Sciences, University of the Philippines Los Banos.

NAST Talent Search for Young Scientist: Angel B. Encarnacion, Dr. of Marine Science, Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources, Region 2, Dept. of Agriculture.

Outstanding Books: Six Outstanding Books and Eight Outstanding Scientific Papers were also awarded.

The ASM, led this year by the Engineering Sciences and Technology, Diliman at NAST, a gathering of scientists from all over the country to discuss relevant issues related to science and technology aims to intensively discuss three “pillars” of competitiveness as defined by the World Economic Forum (WEF) namely, infrastructure, information and innovation.

Chaired by Acc. Reynaldo B. Vea, more than 700 scientists and researchers from key institutions and agencies attended the ASM. The meeting that was focused on infrastructure, sectors, energy, water, telecommunications and transportations after the presentation of the results of scientific policy research culminated in the submission of recommendations on appropriate interventions to the Philippine government and the private sector.

NAST Philippines is the highest recognition and advocacy body to the government and science community on matters related to science and technology.

Guest Speaker DOST Sec. Mario G. Montejo’s motto: Local Technology Works” affirm a belief to the creativity of Filipinos particularly the Philippine scientific community.

With his projects NOAH, DREAM LIDAR, MOSES and the Monorail Transit among others, he has reshaped DOST policies.

DOST policies now define its focus and development programs to address Pressing National Problems, Development of Appropriate Technologies to create Growth in the Countryside, Improvement of Industry Competitiveness, Enhancement of Delivery of Government and Social Services, and to Build and Enhance Capacity in Emerging Technologies.